RSS

FO Friday 1: Mini Bubbles

06 Sep
Mini Bubbles by kpetra
Mini Bubbles, a photo by kpetra on Flickr.

Summer is technically over, kids are back to school and I am trying to get back to the swing of things. Tami’s amis is hosting FO Fridays and this is my attempt to be part of it.

We had a great summer, went on a cross country road trip and then spend half of the summer in Europe. I have a tendency to overpack my knitting and spinning supplies (forget the clothes as long as mommy has something to keep her hands busy) and as usual I did not disappoint. I did a quick math, well over 60 hours spent in the car driving should push me well into FO territory on a good number of the projects. Yeah. Not so true. I did not account for my share of driving, planning the route, demands of the kids and such.

At least my Mini Bubbles got well under way. I continued working on it in Europe, brought it back and finally finished last week. It’s a fun shawl pattern by Kieran Foley using dropped stitches.

I used my handspun in Gale’s Art colorway Scarab and Coctail on variegated BFL. It is spun as singles, slightly fulled. The finished yarn is slightly fuzzy, which made dropping the stitches major pain. Instead of goind “whoosh” and dropping the full column in no time, I had to manually go stitch by stitch and undo them. I love the final effect though.

Now hop over to tami’s amis to see what others have finished this week.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2013 in Knitting, Spinning

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “FO Friday 1: Mini Bubbles

  1. Winnie

    September 6, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    That is just beautiful! I love the colors.

     
    • maikiki STUDIO

      September 6, 2013 at 4:59 pm

      Thank you! The colors are fun. I wore it to my kids’ pediatrician and she commented I looked like fall.

       
  2. Christine N

    September 6, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    Oh that looks so cool!

     
  3. shoelaceswitcher

    September 6, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    Oh man, that scarf/shawl is beyond cool. Gorgeous handspun, too!

     
    • maikiki STUDIO

      September 6, 2013 at 6:49 pm

      Thank you! I spun two skeins, thinking I will need them both. One was plenty. I guess there’s another shawl or scarf in my future.

       
  4. Minding My Own Stitches

    September 6, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Oh it’s gorgeous! I’ve already rushed over to Ravelry to add it to my favourites. I hear you about dropping stitches in sticky yarn – I ran into the same thing when I knit a Clapotis from silk šŸ™‚

     
  5. Andria

    September 7, 2013 at 2:31 am

    Simply amazing!!

     
  6. Cloudberry

    September 7, 2013 at 7:47 am

    So pretty!

     

Leave a comment

 
Agujas

The Art of Knitting

NothingButKnit

yeah right.